You are here: Home >> English News & Features >> MUMBAI

Cong-NCP wins Konkan graduate constituency

DNMUM248928 | 7/5/2012 | Author : DNA Correspondent | WC :342 | Politics & Governance

Niranjan Davkhare won the election against BJP candidate Sanjay Kelkar by 5,541 votes

In a major victory for the Congress-NCP alliance in the Konkan division graduates constituency polls, its candidate Niranjan Davkhare emerged victorious, defeating his closest rival and BJP candidate Sanjay Kelkar by 5,541 votes, and thus wresting the seat for the allies after a gap of 20 years. The results for the elections to graduates and teachers constituencies were announced on Wednesday. Davkhare polled 27,633 votes, while Kelkar got 22,092 votes.
Davkhare said that his priority would be to work for the upliftment of education and teachers in his constituency. "It is the victory of development and I thank every one who contributed to make it happen," Davkhare said, reacting to his win.
He stated that this time, a higher number of voters were enrolled and this had an impact on the results. The elections for the Mumbai graduates constituency polls, Mumbai teachers' constituency polls and Konkan division graduates constituency polls were held on July 2.
Kapil Patil, Congress-NCP backed independent candidate, won the elections for the Mumbai teachers' constituency. He defeated his closest rival Balasaheb Mhatre; Patil polled 9749 votes, while Mhatre got 1529 votes.
In the Mumbai graduates constituency polls, Dr Deepak Sawant of Shiv Sena managed to retain his seat by a thumping winning margin. Sawant received 14,042 votes, while Rajesh Teke, independent candidate supported by Congress-NCP, got 493 votes.
According to election authorities, 91,650 voters are registered for the Mumbai graduates' constituency, while 21,685 voters have been listed for the Mumbai teachers' constituency. The number of voters for the Konkan division graduates constituency stood at 1,09,349. The term of four sitting members of graduates' and teachers' constituencies in the Mumbai, Konkan and Nashik divisions will expire on July 7.
For the Mumbai teachers' constituency, 15 candidates were in the fray, while there were four candidates from the Mumbai graduates constituency. The number of candidates in the Konkan graduates constituency was nine.
The counting took place at The Cotton Corporation of India Ltd's storehouse in Kalamboli. District collectors of Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg will work as assistant returning officers.

Copyright restricted. Under license from
Add To Lightbox
Calculate Price

More on MUMBAI

IRC sets rules for BMC to concretise sideways
DNMUM430426 | 1/22/2019 12:00:00 AM | Author : Prajakta Kasale | WC :358

While the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) has been finalising the pedestrian policy over the last two years and recently, declared the concretisation of footpaths by replacing paver blocks, a list of guidelines set by the Indian Road Cong

Add To LightboxCalculate Price

Sorry state of Lower Parel footpaths
DNMUM430427 | 1/22/2019 12:00:00 AM | Author : Prajakta Kasale | WC :603

Mumbai’s Lower Parel area has emerged as a business district in the last decade. More and more skyscrapers and corporate offices were developed in the suburbs and hence, the floating population rose manifold. Although the city witnesses a lot of d

Add To LightboxCalculate Price

Society blames man of using flat for biz, HC quashes plaint
DNMUM430428 | 1/22/2019 12:00:00 AM | Author : Mustafa Plumber | WC :236

After nearly 15 years, the Bombay High Court quashed and set aside a criminal prosecution initiated against a Khar-based housing society member by the municipal corporation over allegedly using his house for commercial use.Justice Mridula Bhatkar whi
Add To LightboxCalculate Price

Industry bodies to meet on Jan 28 over higher power tariff
DNMUM430429 | 1/22/2019 12:00:00 AM | Author : Sanjay Jog | WC :319

More than 200 industrial organisations across Maharashtra are meeting for the first time on January 28 to protest against higher electricity tariff charged by the state distribution company (MahaVitaran) and decide on the next course of action. In

Add To LightboxCalculate Price